Secure Hours = Better Future

Secure Hours = Better Future Charter

  1. Ban Zero Hour Practices – including exploitative “If and When” contracts.
  2. Provide workers with secure hour contracts that reflect the reality of the average weekly hours worked.
  3. Ensure a maximum ‘look-back’ period of 12 months or less to calculate the average weekly hours and the subsequent ‘band of hours’* into which a worker is placed.
  4. Ensure the maximum width of all ‘band of hours’ is no greater than 5 hours per week
  5. Protect workers from victimisation for enforcing their rights under this legislation.
  6. Ensure legislation is implemented so that current workers can avail of its provisions for hours already completed.

TD’s in green have signed the Secure Hours =Better Future charter


John Paul Phelan FG (Fine Gael)                  

Bobby Aylward FF (Fianna Fail)           

John McGuinness FF

Pat Deering FG

Kathleen Funchion SF (Sinn Fein)


Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin SF

Heather Humphreys FG   

Niamh Smyth FF       

Brendan Smith FF


Joe Carey FG           

Pat Breen FG

Michael Harty IND (Independent)        

Timmy Dooley FF     

Cork East

Kevin O’Keeffe FF

David Stanton FG     

Seán Sherlock LAB (Labour Party)     

Pat Buckley SF 

Cork North Central

Mick Barry SOL (Solidarity)        

Billy Kelleher FF         

Dara Murphy FG                 

Jonathan O’Brien SF

Cork North West

Aindrias Moynihan FF                  

Michael Moynihan FF          

Michael Creed FG    

Cork South Central

Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire SF        

Micheál Martin FF

Simon Coveney FG

Michael McGrath FF  

Cork South West

Michael Collins IND

Margaret Murphy O’Mahony FF          

Jim Daly FG      

Dún Laoghaire

Seán Barrett FG

Richard Boyd Barrett PBP (People Before Profit)         

Mary Mitchell O’Connor FG

Maria Bailey FG


Pearse Doherty SF   

Charlie McConalogue FF

Thomas Pringle I4C (Independents4Change)

Joe McHugh FG                 

Pat Gallagher FF   

Dublin Bay North

Denise Mitchell SF   

Richard Bruton FG            

Tommy Broughan I4C

Seán Haughey FF     

Finian McGrath IA (Independent Alliance)

Dublin Bay South

Jim O’Callaghan FF   

Eoghan Murphy FG

Eamon Ryan GRN (Green Party)

Kate O’Connell FG

Dublin Central

Paschal Donohoe FG

Mary Lou McDonald SF

Maureen O’Sullivan IND

Dublin Fingal

Louise O’Reilly SF    

Brendan Ryan LAB  

Clare Daly I4C

Alan Farrell FG  

Darragh O’Brien FF    

Dublin Mid West

Eoin Ó Broin SF        

Frances Fitzgerald FG         

John Curran FF 

Gino Kenny PBP

Dublin North West

Noel Rock FG

Róisín Shortall SD (Social Democrats)

Dessie Ellis SF

Dublin Rathdown

Josepha Madigan FG

Catherine Martin GRN        

Shane Ross IA

Dublin South Central

Bríd Smith PBP         

Joan Collins I4C        

Aengus Ó Snodaigh SF   

Catherine Byrne FG  

Dublin South West

Paul Murphy SOL               

Katherine Zappone IND

John Lahart FF  

Colm Brophy FG

Seán Crowe SF

Dublin West

Leo Varadkar FG

Jack Chambers FF

Joan Burton LAB

Ruth Coppinger SOL

Galway East

Anne Rabbitte FF     

Seán Canney IND    

Ciarán Cannon FG

Galway West

Éamon Ó Cuív FF

Catherine Connolly I4C

Hildegarde Naughton FG   

Seán Kyne FG

Noel Grealish IND


Martin Ferris SF

John Brassil FF 

Danny Healy-Rae IND       

Michael Healy-Rae IND     

Brendan Griffin FG

Kildare North

Frank O’Rourke FF     

James Lawless FF    

Bernard Durkan FG

Catherine Murphy SD

Kildare South

Seán Ó Fearghaíl CC        

Martin Heydon   FG   

Fiona O’Loughlin FF  


Seán Fleming FF       

Charles Flanagan FG

Brian Stanley SF

Limerick City

Michael Noonan FG  

Jan O’Sullivan LAB

Willie O’Dea FF

Maurice Quinlivan SF

Limerick County

Niall Collins FF  

Tom Neville FG

Patrick O’Donovan FG     


Kevin Moran IND       

Willie Penrose LAB  

Peter Burke FG                   

Robert Troy FF


Gerry Adams SF

Fergus O’Dowd FG

Imelda Munster SF

Declan Breathnach FF

Peter Fitzpatrick FG


Enda Kenny FG         

Dara Calleary FF        

Michael Ring FG        

Lisa Chambers FF

Meath East

Thomas Byrne FF     

Regina Doherty FG   

Helen McEntee FG

Meath West

Peadar Tóibín SF

Damien English FG   

Shane Cassells FF


Marcella Corcoran Kennedy FG

Barry Cowen FF        

Carol Nolan SF


Denis Naughten IND

Eugene Murphy FF   

Michael Fitzmaurice IND


Eamon Scanlon FF

Tony McLoughlin FG

Marc MacSharry FF   

Martin Kenny SF


Alan Kelly LAB

Michael Lowry IND

Séamus Healy WUA (Workers Unemployed Action Group)

Mattie McGrath IND

Jackie Cahill FF


Mary Butler FF

John Deasy FG

John Halligan IA

David Cullinane SF


Brendan Howlin LAB

Paul Kehoe FG

Mick Wallace I4C

Michael D’Arcy FG    

James Browne FF     


Pat Casey FF

John Brady SF

Andrew Doyle FG     

Stephen Donnelly FF         

Simon Harris FG